Good Cheer Records


Sleep EP (2018)


Untitled drawing (1).jpg

“One hell of an introduction” - The Grey Estates

“...the extra muscle really elevates these songs giving Bon’s monster of a voice the appropriate backing” - Stereogum

“Big-time lovesick rock songs” - The Fader

“...SLEEP indicates that Babehoven’s potential is sky-high” - The Portland Mercury

“Maya Bon’s vocals are enough to convince you to buy whatever she’s selling” - Post-Trash

Babehoven is the recording project of Portland via LA songwriter Maya Bon. Rhythm duo Skylar Pia (drums) and Elias Williamson (bass) bring an updated and polished perspective to Bon’s intimate soft pop with conspicuously indie-folk roots. The trio began playing shows together while in school together at Lewis & Clark college. SLEEP was recorded the week after graduation with classmates (and label mates) Harrison Smith and Jesse Robertson (of Good Cheer labelmates Turtlenecked).  

Songs like “Five Times Rule” and title track “Sleep” are peppy professions of self reflection while songs like “Out of This Country” and “Bathtub” are elegant, grand expressions of contemplation. The band’s power is felt as they execute a notable outspokenness with an effortless grace. Striking vulnerability lays to bear as the band wanders from sincere and subdued to grandiose and emotional in the course of only five songs on Maya Bon’s full band debut.